Posted on

University of Tanjungpura

State University

  • Rector Prof. Dr. Thamrin Usman, DEA [1]
  • Location Pontianak City, West Kalimantan, Indonesia


University of Tanjungpura or abbreviated as Untan is a public university in the city of Pontianak, Indonesia. The location of UNTAN campus is located in Pontianak city and easily recognizable from the Digulis Monument located in front of the campus. Digulis monument is also known as UNTAN Roundabout.

Tanjungpura University was established on May 20th, 1959 under the name of National Daya University under the auspices of the National Higher Education Foundation as a private university. The founders of these institutions are political figures and community leaders of West Kalimantan. At the time of standing this university has two faculties namely the Faculty of Law and Faculty of Commerce. The lecturers of those days were scholars and young scholars in West Kalimantan.

Status of the National University of Power changed to State University of Pontianak based on Ministerial Decree PTIP Number 53 the Year 1963 Date May 16, 1963. But the date of warning stipulation of the status of state university set May 20, 1963, with the name of the State University of Pontianak and also marked the opening of two new faculties of Faculty of Agriculture and Faculty of Engineering as well as the change of name of Faculty of Commerce into Faculty of Economics.

In line with RI’s political situation in 1965, the name of the university was changed to Dwikora University (based on Presidential Decree No. 278/1965 dated 14 September 1965), as well as marking the opening of the Faculty of Social and Political Sciences (Fisipol).

Finally, the name of Dwikora University changed again to Tanjungpura University (Untan), based on Presidential Decree No. 171 the Year 1967. The name of Tanjungpura University is derived from the name of Tanjungpura Kingdom. Until now, UNTAN has nine faculties with education level up to Strata Two (S2).c